Why Pokémon HeartGold & SoulSilver Are The Best Games In The Series By Far

Revisiting the Game and Absolutely Loving It

Michael D'Angelo
8 min readDec 25, 2020

“Gotta Catch’em All”! Who doesn’t know the iconic phrase? Pokémon is a worldwide phenomenon that has taken the entire world by storm. These games have been held in very high regard for many years since Pokémon’s debut all the way back in 1996 with Pokémon Red & Pokémon Green on the Game Boy. At this point in time, the Pokémon series has currently released 18 main series games, and have introduced more than 800 new Pokémon creatures to catch and befriend.

I’ve always been a huge Pokémon fan, ever since I got my hands on Pokémon Yellow Version way back when on my Game Boy Color. Something about exploring a new region, befriending cute critters, and growing along with them has always entranced me. However, up until the more recent games in the series, my passion for these games have begun to dwindle a bit. Sure, the title of the new games says ‘Pokémon’ but it never really felt the same to me.

Even despite playing through the newer games to completion, I never really felt as connected to the series as I once was. I just couldn’t shake the feeling that the newer games really weren’t made for me. They were being targeted towards a newer, and younger audience. These games began to hold my hand way too…

--

--